An announcement… and a plea for help

I don’t know how I managed to keep this under my hat for the last few months, but as of time time tomorrow, I’ll be sittin’ on a beach chair in a Caribbean island paradise with a fruity drink and a book! O.B. and I decided to head south for a totally indulgent tropical holiday, and I must say, it has arrived not a minute too soon!

(To further stir up a bit of envy, I’ll point out that our destination is currently 32 degrees Celcius warmer than Toronto… 49 degrees is you count the wind chill/humidex!)

I’m hoping the resort’s restaurants offer some decent vegan options, but if not, I’m more than happy to stuff myself full of fresh fruit at every meal.  I’ve been subsisting off of apples, carrots, and sweet potatoes (i.e. the cheapest produce in this season) every day, so I’m REALLY looking forward to sampling some fresh Caribbean foodstuffs. There will definitely be tons of pics next week!

And secondly, I’m appealing to all of your for helping finding the perfect recipe. I’ll be helping my mother host Christmas for the extended family and I’d like to wow the clan with some vegan recipes. I’ve already picked a Sweet Potato Casserole and my new favourite bread, Lemon-Cranberry, but I’d really like a third one. I’m looking for something appetizer-ish (i.e. no desserts) and communal. My grandma expressed interest in something quinoa-based, but that’s not essential. There are a couple kids but mostly it’s a big group of open-minded flexitarians

I’d love, love, love it if you guys could comment with some suggestions… with Thanksgiving a recent memory, I’m hoping y’all have some successful experiments in mind. (references to cookbook recipes are good too, I can just look them up).

Thanks, and see you in a week!

       -Maureen

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    shellyfish said,

    I’m so happy for you! Drink a cocktail with a little umbrella for me!!
    Appies… my favourite crowd pleaser isn’t very holiday-esque : Spring Rolls! (VWAV has a good recipe – but I can email you if you need one!). Savory muffins or crackers work really well, too. I have a cracker recipe on my blog from a Daring Baker’s challenge in September. that could work.
    Another one that is a huge hit at parties we have are the samosa stuffed potatoes from VWAV – they can even be eaten with your hands if they aren’t made with big taters – again, I can send you the recipe if you need!

  2. 2

    VeggieGirl said,

    HAVE FUN!!

    May I humbly suggest the baked good recipe I just featured in my current blog post??

  3. 3

    Ricki said,

    Wow–YOU ARE SO LUCKY!!! Have a fabulous time.

    Appetizers. . . I just made some faux tuna salad and served it on rice crackers at a recent party–HUGE hit. I also love carrot pate with crackers–most people think it’s cheddar cheese at first, but love it once they taste it. And for quinoa, the quinoa, sweet potato and black bean bites I made a while back are great, too. From cookbooks, I love sweet potato wedges with dipping sauces, or think strips of eggplant grilled, spread with pesto and rolled up, secured with toothpicks.

  4. 4

    I love the hot artichoke dip on the Everyday Dish blog/site. Have a WONDERFUL vacation!

  5. 5

    Sharon said,

    Wow, sounds like so much fun! Enjoy your time!!

  6. 6

    Lucky you!! You deserve a wonderful vacation! Have an awesome time!!

    I can’t think of any appetizers, but I love everyone else’s suggestions!

  7. 7

    Oooooh, I am so envious! I wanna come! You should stop in Memphis on your way down South and stick me in your suitcase.

    As for ideas, you can’t go wrong with a black bean/quinoa/corn salad.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

