4 lazy ways to eat sweet potatoes in 5 minutes

Microwaved and:

Number 4:

Drenched in mushroom gravy

Number 3:

smothered in dairy-free margarine and mixed with a couple teaspoons of Montreal Steak Spice

Number 2:

dairy-free margarine and brown sugar

Number 1:

Stirred into instant soup! This is Moroccan Vegetable soup from my local grocery's hot-food counter.

Why yes, I HAVE been eating a lot of sweet potatoes lately. I have also been eating a lot of instant soup cups, apples, and broccoli soup, which explains my lack of creative posting lately. On the other hand, good vegan food finds a way into my life one way or the other, so I have a few pics.

On the subject of my grocery store’s food counter, I’ve lately been at a loss to maintain my energy levels for my post-work workout (9 frenzied hours in a frigid, windowless chemistry lab will do that). My gym is conveniently located in a grocery store, so a couple times I have relied on the hot- or cold-food counters for some sustenance. I’m happy to report that the food is quite good and the vegan options are startlingly plentiful. Here are two that I snapped pictures of:

Crunchy wheatberry salad

Wild rice, apple, and cranberry salad


Does anyone have any good tips to spike my energy levels for a nice, long workout? I find a cup of coffee and a banana does the trick for about half an hour, but then I get soooo tired again and just want to sit down.

In other news, I’ve been eating baked-tofu sandwiches a lot lately.

I've never hid my love for the President's Choice brand, and their Soy and Ginger salad dressing makes a FINE marinade (and salad dressing!). After 2 days of marinading, I bake these puppies at 400F for 30 mins, rotating once.

What else have I got? Oooh, Kath’s (from Kath Eats Real Food) love of oatmeal is contagious, and recently I used some of her ideas to make a perfect bowl of Peanut Butter Pumpkin Oatmeal:

Thanks for the idea, Kath! I'll be eating a lot more of this.

I recently visited one of my favourite places in the world, the Royal Ontario Museum, with my friends Kara and Michael. We ate an early dinner before the ROM at another one of my favourite places in the world, Noodle Bowl in the Annex.

I had the green vegetable curry for $7. It was delicious! Too bad I had just lost my mitten (my fourth left mitten this season!).

I’m afraid that’s all I’ve got to post at the moment, but I’m headed up to Ottawa for the weekend to experiment in O.B.‘s kitchen visit O.B. and cook some delicious meals :-) Happy weekend and don’t forget to set your clocks back and enjoy the extra hour!

-Maureen

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    OOOOOH, super-yum.

    Have fun in Ottawa!!

  2. 2

    You had me at sweet potato! So many delicious dishes! I’ll take one of each, please! :P
    I find that a simple fruit and water smoothie (sans banana) energizes me for a while. Bananas are too heavy for me and they make me sluggish, but if they work for you…

  3. 3

    sweet potatoes in gravy sounds awesome! I’ve never tried this before.

  4. 4

    Ricki said,

    So many great choices! I love the sweet potato-Montreal steak spice idea! The oatmeal also looks delish. And I know what I’m doing with that PC dressing now! ;)

  5. 5

    Tofufreak said,

    mmm- baked tofu sandwiches!!!!! sweet potatoes!!! awesome!!! :D

  6. 6

    Katy said,

    I love sweet potatoes! I’ve never tried them with brown sugar…or gravy…or in soup. I guess I need to branch out!

  7. 7

    mihl said,

    Have a great time in Ottawa! I am so stealing your sweet potato/mushroom gravy idea!

  8. 8

    Shelby said,

    I love all of your sweet potato ideas! I just bought a bunch and I think I’ll use some of these.

    That wheatberry salad sounds fantastic! I’ve always wanted to try those.

    Baked tofu sandwiches = Love ;)

  9. 9

    I’ve had peanut butter oats and pumpkin oats, but never peanut butter pumpkin oats….gotta try that!!

    As for boosting workout energy, I always eat a cup of soy yogurt or the coconut yogurt with a 1/4 cup of granola mixed in at my desk at work before I hit the gym around 5:30…but than again, I work 6-7 hour days and not 9 hour days.

  10. 10

    shellyfish said,

    So, I’m suddenly craving sweet potatoes, what’s up with that? And baked tofu sandwiches, yes please!
    For the workout energy, well, I’ve found that I have way more energy in the morning, which means I end up having to get up way earlier than I’d like, but my runs are far more enjoyable.

  11. 11

    Joanna said,

    i just had a sweet potato for dinner and i wish i would’ve had it with gravy. that sounds so funky and good. haha

  12. 12

    Judie said,

    I would love to have you share some of your wonderful recipes with my readers:

    http://www.best-potato-recipes.com/share-a-favorite-recipe.html

    All my best
    Judith


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

