Aly Returns

The recent influx of fresh squash at the grocery store inspired me to try out spaghetti squash for the first time a few weeks ago. Spaghetti squash can be used as a delicious and healthy alternative or supplement to pasta. As the name implies, spaghetti squash flesh may become noodle-like when scraped out with a fork. It is very high in fibre and vitamin A and can be prepared in many different ways. My favourite way to prepare it is by cutting it in half, scooping out the seeds, placing it on a baking sheet cut side down (Sim, your mom was right!) and baking it for about 30-40 minutes at 350 – 375 F. Spaghetti squash, like many other varieties of squash, can be difficult to cut; if you would like to halve your squash before cooking it, you can zap it in the microwave for 3-4 minutes to soften the rind.

Here are two ways that I enjoyed my last spaghetti squash:

cold spaghetti squash with lemon garlic dressing, arugula, chickpeas, tomato, onion, black olives, capers, white onion and nutritional yeast.

Spaghetti Squash Salad: cold spaghetti squash with lemon garlic dressing, arugula, chickpeas, tomato, onion, black olives, capers, white onion and nutritional yeast.

Braaiins... Spaghetti squash mixed with tomato sauce, So Soya ground veggie burger, onion, nutritional yeat and corn.

Braaaaaaaaaaaiins... Spaghetti squash mixed with tomato sauce, So Soya+ ground veggie burger, onion, nutritional yeast and corn. This tasted a lot better than it looked.

That is all for now. Now that school has started, I will probably start posting frequently ;).

– Aly

PS Check out the new Granola Girl Cafe website!

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    I ADORE spaghetti squash – I have been baking 1 spaghetti squash each week since they came into season, and I don’t plan on stopping now, haha :-) Glad that you tried it!!

  2. 2

    alaina said,

    i’ve only eaten spaghetti squash twice so far and both times it was plain, but i’ll definitely be trying these ideas!

  3. 3

    Man that stuff looks so good! I’ve never ever eaten spaghetti squash, now I just HAVE to!

  4. 4

    shellyfish said,

    I love spaghetti squash so much! Yum! And it’s so easy to make! I need to buy some soon!

  5. 5

    Cheri Sicard said,

    That spaghetti squash salad looks amazing! I can’t wait to try it.

    I cook with and have developed recipes for spaghetti squash quite a lot, but have never went in the Asian direction either, which you Spaghetti squash post couple with the Udon reference in your blog title, has now inspired me to do as well. Thanks for the terrific recipes.

  6. 6

    Vegannifer said,

    The salad looks incredible! I’ve never made spaghetti squash – I should stop fearing it so much!

  7. 7

    mihl said,

    Thank you so much for this post! Today I saw a spaghetti squash at the grocery store for the first time in my life. I left it where it was because I didn’t know what to do with it. I am going to grab it tomorrow, if it’s still there!

  8. 8

    i’ve never cooked with spaghetti squash. Thanks for the instructions!

  9. 9

    Debbie said,

    Maureen! Heard a lot about you!!!! Awesome Chef! Had your amazing gingery bars. Absolutely delicious! THANK YOU!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

