The joy of cooking (for others)

So O.B. and I had a fantastic weekend in Ottawa celebrating a special occasion, and my efforts to spice up the weekend with colourful, creative recipes did not leave an empty stomach in it’s wake. I definitely over-indulged on food over the weekend, but that’s what you get when you eat soup cups and carrot sticks 7 days a week!

I first want to post something I forgot in my last update… NOT from Ottawa. PIZZA!!

Isn't it great how pre-prepared pizza crusts are unintentionally vegan?

I made this pizza by sauteeing veggies, tofu, and herbs until cooked thoroughly (as pictured), dumping everything plus tomatoes on a commercial pizza crust, and baking as per instructions.

Now, onto the weekend foodz:

Pumpkin bread recipe from here (modified by swapping pecans with walnuts, skipping the raisins, and subbing 2 tbsp flax seed + 8 tbsp water for the eggs), and I made the frosting my making this Vegan Buttercream icing and adding liberal pumpkin pie spice and artificial maple flavouring.

Pumpkin Bread with walnuts and Maple Buttercream Frosting

Pumpkin Bread with walnuts and Maple Buttercream Frosting

I couldn’t believe how frickin’ easy it is to make crepes! I always assumed it was a prohibitively complicated process. But this recipe made it all so straightforward, and the crepes turned out great:

Crepes with a little kiwifruit, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, peach slices, apple slices, banana slices, and maple syrup

Crepes with a little kiwifruit, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, peach slices, apple slices, banana slices, and maple syrup

Chana Palak Masala from the Happy Herbivore:

Served with red quinoa. O.B. enjoyed it with President's Choice whole-wheat naan, which unfortunately contained dairy.

Thanks to Jon, my BFF and high-school prom date, for this wicked recipe:

Sweet potato pie

  • Wash, peel, and soften (by microwave) 2-3 medium sweet potatoes and 3-4 medium carrots.
  • Mash the sweet potatoes and carrots, add a tbsp or two of margarine, a splash of lemon juice, and a bit of salt and pepper.
  • Pour into casserole dish, sprinkle with a mixture of 3/4 cup crushed bread crumbs and 1/2 cup brown sugar which has been mixed with 2 tbsp cold butter.
  • Bake at 350 for 20-25 mins. Enjoy!

Cornbread from the PPK:

Sorry for this awful picture but I was in such a rush to serve/eat that I didn't muck around with the flash settings any longer than I had to

Perplexed as to how I might use the surplus of pears from my grandma’s trees (see last post), I swapped pears for apples in my favourite apple crumble recipe.

Pear Crumble is a bit more watery than its apple counterpart, but is still totally bitchin'!!

I also made a big batch of Moroccan Couscous for O.B. to eat throughout the week.

This one of our favourite recipes and it's stupidly easy to put together.

All the recipes posted here turned out fantastic, if I don’t say so myself… ahem. All get 5 stars, I really couldn’t even pick a favourite! Now I’m back in Toronto and am back to eating soup cups, boo. I’m sure it won’t be long until I’ve found another mouth to feed (Hey new Toronto arrivals, anyone need a housewarming pie?) or mosey on back up to Ottawa.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

-Maureen

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nicole said,

    Everything looks out of this world! Especially the pumpkin bread. I’m all about pumpkin right now.

  2. 2

    Shelby said,

    Cornbread, Pumpkin Bread, and Crepes…Oh MY! So yummy!

  3. 3

    Melissa S. said,

    wow all your foods look AMAZING!!!

    and i have those corelle plates at home… ;)

  4. 4

    shellyfish said,

    Lord, all this amazing food! Carrot sticks and soup cups, well, they are OK, but I nearly fainted when I saw the pumpkin bread & maple frosting! I want some, too, please!!!

  5. 5

    VeggieGirl said,

    Sooo glad that you had a fantastic weekend in Ottawa!!

    Man oh man, I simply CANNOT pick a favorite dish/treat to give a shout-out to – EVERYTHING looks positively sensational!!

  6. 6

    Jennifer said,

    Holy moly! Every single thing you made looked incredible! I could really go for some sweet potato pie, crepes, and pumpkin bread. Great job!

  7. 7

    Andrea said,

    All I can say is wow. I envy the people you celebrated with!

  8. 8

    Haha oops yeah, I meant one of the little 113gram containers. Thanks for pointing it out; I’m going to change my post now.

    And wow do those crepes look ever-so-good!

  9. 9

    Everything looks great, especially that maple frosted pumpkin bread. I could really go for a piece of that about right now.

  10. 10

    So much great looking food! You make me want to whip up some chana masala too.

  11. 11

    Erin said,

    First of all, that pizza is beautiful.
    Second of all……………………., that pizza is gorgeous.
    Well, everything looks gorgeously beautiful!

  12. 12

    i just stumbled across your blog and all these recipes look so amazing, vegan or not!!!

    have a nice weekend.

  13. 13

    Wow! I love how good the couscous looks like. And I have never had pumpkin pie! maybe I should do something about it… ;-)

  14. 14

    Tofufreak said,

    I want some of your maple frosted pumpkin bread! and your pear crumble! and your cornbread! EVERYTHING LOOKS SO GOOD! ahhhhh! ^_^ haha

  15. 15

    vegancowgirl said,

    I love love love your references to President Choice products. Your posts make me miss home so much. I am totally jonesing for some of that tasty looking pumpkin bread! Faboooo.

    And that corn bread looks amazing as well. Yum yum. Three cheers for trips to Ottawa!!

  16. 16

    urbanvegan said,

    Wow. That’s a lot of good food.

  17. 17

    Taras said,

    Pumpkin Bread with walnuts and Maple Buttercream Frosting,

    Mmmmmmmmm, it was good. Thanks Chef Maureen :-)

  18. 18

    Aly said,

    I want to eat that icing. By itself. Right now.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

