Confessions of a busy, lazy eater

So… eek, it’s been a little long since my last post, and I have a couple solid excuses to put forth. Shortly after my last post, I had a job interview for an environmental chemist, got the job, started the job, realized that the commute from Toronto was INSANE, and moved out to upper-middle-class suburbia. Yeah, moved. To one of Toronto’s annoyingly domestic fringe suburbs. So I’ve got Life Jet Lag, in addition to being super busy at my new job and uncomfortably out of my element in a new kitchen and with new grocery stores–all of which translate into lazy eating habits.

I’ve become pretty dependant on these puppies for noontime nourishment:

I love everything (vegan) in the President's Choice Blue Menu line, but these soup cups are little wonders. They have 160-220 calories, 5-13 gms of fibre, and 200-800 mgs of sodium (hardly a steal as far as sodium goes, but many soup cans are 1000+ mgs). At $1.79 each, it's barely a chip in the pocketbook to keep a few on hand for uninspired mealtimes.

I've been snacking on green beans a lot too... I steam them in advance and eat them cold with PC Blue Menu Soy & Ginger Salad dressing:

A plethora of pears is also on my snack menu since my grandma's pear trees are shedding their fruit like it's the end of the world.

Some other things:

Tomato and Red/Yellow Pepper Salad

Tofu and Sweet Potato Kebabs

Tofu and Sweet Potato Kebabs Recipe (thanks mom):

  • 2 Red, yellow or orange peppers cut into bite size pcs.
  • 3 yams or sweet potatoes sliced in 1 inch thick pcs.
  • Firm tofu cubed
  • Your favourite BBQ sauce
  • Peel yams and slice to 1 inch thick.  Precook yams/potatoes
  • (put in pyrex dish with a bit of water and microwave until almost cooked)
  • Cube the firm tofu,
  • Cube the potato and or yams
  • Skewer the potatoes, yams, peppers.
  • Baste with your favourite BBQ sauce.

BBQ, turning and basting until brown


My friend Adrienne and my mother share the same birthday, September 15. I made them each a Pumpkin Cake with Fluffy Buttercream Frosting. It was totally delicious and I can’t wait to make more pumpkin-flavoured delights.

Pumpkin Cake with Fluffy Buttercream Frosting


I had the pleasure of dining out with a regular cast member on Mad About Udon, The Veggie-Happy Omnivore, at Fresh in Toronto (Spadina Ave at Queen St) last week. WordPress won’t let me embed the link, so go here for more info: http://www.freshrestaurants.ca/ . I really cannot overstate how impressed and satisfied I was with this restaurant the meal. I truly can’t believe it took me so long to try Fresh out. The food was criminally delicious, or so it seemed since most dishes are less than $8 and I felt like we were robbing the place.

The V.H.O. had the Energy Bowl...

... and I had the Buddha Bowl (thai peanut sauce w/ marinated tofu cubes, tomato, cilantro, cucumber, bean sprouts, chopped raw peanuts, herbs & spices:

Unfortunately, that’s all I’ve got to show for the last three weeks, but I’m headed up to Ottawa for the weekend to visit O.B. and I’ve got a full menu of autumn-themed recipes planned! Stay tuned!
-Maureen

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ricki said,

    The suburbs do take a bit of getting used to. . .especially if you don’t have a car (if you do, you’ll quickly become spoiled at all the parking spaces and lack of crowds). Those kebabs look terrific! And so glad you enjoyed Fresh. It’s definitely one of my favorite restaurants!

  2. 2

    Shelby said,

    I WANT THOSE PEARS!!! I can’t find any organic pears anymore and I’m craving them like crazy! I love pears..so juicy and sweet =)

    Your tofu and sweet potato skewers look fantastic too!

  3. 3

    Nikki said,

    Fresh is an awesome place. I love their cookbook! I am glad for the big update. You make lots of delicious food. Hang in there with your new job. Things will even out soon.

  4. 4

    VeggieGirl said,

    So glad to see you posting again!! I’ve been wondering how everything in Toronto has been going for you.

    Oooooh, the pears, pepper salad, sweet potatoes, and pumpkin cake look AMAZING – and I soooo want to go to that restaurant!!

  5. 5

    Jennifer said,

    Love the tofu and sweet potato kebabs! Great idea!

  6. 6

    Nothing wrong with being food lazy after a big move. I wish you had time to make me some of that pumpkin cake. My birthday is coming up too. :-)

  7. 7

    shellyfish said,

    Glad to see you back – and I think a new job and moving are definitely good reasons to be “living” and not blogging! I hope you get used to the burbs soon…can I have some of that cake, by the way?

  8. 8

    Welcome back! Good luck with your new job. And the cake looks AWESOME!

  9. 9

    Ricki said,

    Hi Again Maureen–
    I sent you an email a while back through Googlemail–did you get it? I’m afraid it may have been lost. I’m wanting to make your savory fried rice from a few entries back, but there’s no soy sauce in the list of ingredients (though it appears in the instructions). How much does it take? Thanks!!

  10. 10

    Congratulations on your new job and the move. That birthday cake looks scrumptious!

  11. 11

    Erin said,

    You NEEEEEED to post some recipes, esp. for that tofu/sweet potato kabob!! YUM!

  12. 12

    Aimee said,

    Those potato and tofu kabobs look so great!! I need to try that combo, I love sweet potatoes.

  13. 13

    Is it sad that I think those soup/meal cups actually look really good?

    But the pumpkin cake, tomato salad, Buddha Bowl, etc. look even better!

  14. 14

    Theresa said,

    Wow, congrats on the new job and good luck settling in to your new suburban life. I think your food looks pretty great, though I’ve been terribly lazy myself in the past few weeks.

  15. 15

    mihl said,

    Wow, you were busy indeed. I only moved my blog, ha ha. But congrats on the job and the new place. I think those soups look great! Why not eat them from time to time?

    The kabobs look amazing, too. As does everything else.

  16. 16

    Maureen said,

    Sorry about not posting the kebab recipe–it should be up soon!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

