My trip to the dietitian and a mango lassi

In a previous post, I had mentioned that I consulted a registered dietitian. I made the decision to visit a dietitian instead of a “nutritionist” as dietitians are provincially regulated. The dietitian helped me create a new meal and activity plan to ensure that my diet is well-balanced and able to compliment my level of activity.  She was able to assess my previous eating habits based on a food diary I had been keeping on the advice of my allergist. Please keep in mind that this plan was tailored to my needs, which include a number of food allergies. Here is an overview of the changes she suggested:

BEFORE:

 

AFTER:

Breakfast

oats, raisins, flax seed, bran and boiled apple or pumpkin OR All-Bran w/ fruit and soy milk

 

Breakfast

oats, raisins, flax seed, bran and boiled apple or pumpkin OR homemade granola mix w/ fruit and soy milk

Snack #1

fruit

 

Snack #1

fruit OR vegetables and source of protein (ex. blueberries and soy yogurt, veggies and hummus, grapes and soy cheeze)

Snack #2

fruit

 

Lunch

salad OR green smoothie

 

Lunch

largest meal of the day (must include vegetables, starch and protein)

Snack #3

fruit

 

Snack #2

fruit OR vegetables and source of protein

Snack #4

 

fruit and soy yogurt

 

 

Supper

largest meal of the day (vegetables, starch and protein)

 

Supper

sandwich, salad OR other small meal

 

Snack #3

fruit (optional)

My previous eating habits left me feeling very hungry, tired and weak even though I was snacking very frequently. The new plan should provide me with enough energy to get through the day and my afternoon work outs. I have already noticed an improvement in my energy level since I started following the plan!

This mango lassi is an example of a snack that would fit my new plan:

1 c water, 1 ripe mango, 1 package of yoso vanilla soy yogurt and a bit of ground cardamon seeds. Also pictured (The Wire on DVD) is the reason why I have not been posting.

Mango lassi: blend 1 ripe mango, 1 c water, 1/2 c yoso vanilla soy yogurt and 1 t ground cardamon.

If you are interested in consulting a dietitian, you can use this website to locate one in your area. 

 – Aly

PS NEAT, another reason why doing this is bad!

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Sounds like a great, new plan!! And that mango lassi sounds quite refreshing – yum!

  2. 2

    VeganCowGirl said,

    Hmmm….sounds like an interesting idea. Perhaps I will try to book an appointment with a nutritionist when I come home to T.O. in Oct. (i don’t think we have any here in Brussels) – I would be very curious to see what they might say.

    The mango lassi looks great!!!

  3. 3

    shellyfish said,

    Any plan that has mango lassis as an option is right on in my book! Woo hoo!

  4. 4

    Allison said,

    Thanks for posting the meal plan! Even though you mentioned having a lot of allergies, it’s nice to see a balanced way of eating all planned out. I’m glad it’s helping!

  5. 5

    Erin said,

    That sounds like a good, balanced plan. I think I need to pay a visit to a dietician as well!
    And thanks for the link on the oil drilling–it’s horrible to corrupt nature just for oil…Downright evil, actually.

  6. 6

    It’s cool to see how they changed your eating schedule around. And I’ve heard it’s better to eat bigger at lunch, but when I try that, it makes me too tired to work the rest of the afternoon. I do love the frequent snacking recommendations. I sometimes feel guilty abouts snacking…even healthy snacking. I guess I shouldn’t.

  7. 7

    Shelby said,

    mmm I heart mangos!

  8. 8

    Alicia said,

    Yummy mango lassi and now I’m craving a smoothie. :) Good to hear that you have a new eating plan and hopefully all will be well. Do keep us posted.

  9. 9

    compulsivewriter said,

    sounds like a good plan… good luck…. n the mango lassi looks yummmm

  10. 10

    McCunt said,

    Tastes extremely good.

  11. 11

    Your mango lassi is so pretty! Interesting plan. Hadn’t occurred to me to eat the largest meal midday.

  12. 12

    Looks like a terrifically well-balanced plan :o).

  13. 13

    Nikki said,

    Good plan and some wonderful meals in your last post.

  14. 14

    glidingcalm said,

    i used to ALWAYS order mango lassi for my drink of choice at indian restaurants! so yummy!

  15. 15

    Theresa said,

    The best part about that diet plan is that it sounds totally do-able. It’s so refreshing to meet with dietitians who don’t baulk at the idea of veganism!

  16. 16

    natalie said,

    I completely agree with Theresa, I haven’t been wanting to see a dietitian thinking they would just tell me to start eating meat or dairy. It’s good to know they respect your diet!

    And that mango lassi looks great. I must make one ASAP!

  17. 17

    Lauren said,

    that’s so cool that you got information on your eating plan from a dietician..that’s actually a profession i’m really looking about going into, so that’s great that you’re pleased with meeting with one. :)

  18. 18

    erica said,

    Very interesting plan! I think I’m going to try having lunch as my largest meal, and see if I feel a difference.

    And that mango lassi looks fabulous!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

