Weird fishes

This weekend I had the pleasure of entertaining my friend Steph, who I met at a tropical island ecology field course in the Bahamas (if any of our readers are biology students studying in Ontario, I highly recommend that you look in to the OUPFB!). Here are two of the dishes I made for her:

Pasta salad with black olives, green onion, red onion, scapes, corn, red peppers, capers, various herbs and chickpeas with a lemon-garlic dressing

Cold pasta salad: whole wheat bow-tie noodles and assorted vegetable noodles with black olives, green onion, red onion, scapes, corn, red peppers, capers, various herbs, and chickpeas with a lemon-garlic dressing

Roasted potatoes with lemon-garlic dressing and various spices.

Oven roasted potatoes with lemon-garlic dressing and various spices.

Steph is involved with a really neat program in Kingston, Ontario called Fish and Frogs Forever. The program was initiated to bring attention to the plight of Kingston’s aquatic creatures faced with water pollution from the city’s streets. The following picture is dedicated to her, and to all the Radiohead fans who got rained on yesterday in Montreal.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/catcoon/2741499817
Tofurky wrap with mustard, green onion, red onion, fresh basil, tomato, arugula and some sort of fake cheese.

– Aly

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Erin said,

    Everything looks splendid, as per usual! You girls rock!

    ~Erin @ “Vegan & the City”

  2. 2

    Taline said,

    THOSE POTATOES WERE AMAZING! a perfect post-yoga treat! thanks Aly!

  3. 3

    Steph said,

    wow… fitting what my hotmail email is… thanks for having me!! and my potatoes didn’t turn out as good as yours…

  4. 4

    trina said,

    Cute little fishes! There are currently potatoes roasting in my oven, can I have some lemon-garlic sauce please?

  5. 5

    VeggieGirl said,

    Great dishes and fishes!! :-D

    Sounds like a great program!

  6. 6

    Shelby said,

    I love the look of those potatoes…and the sandwiches look divine!

  7. 7

    jessy said,

    that looks like the most amazing pasta salad ever! the dressing sounds sooooo tasty, too! and oven baked potatoes of perfection! mmmmmmmm! i’d also like to say that your wrap is making me superjealousfaced! :D

  8. 8

    I like the little dancing man, and that sammich looks so good right now. I’m hungry. Can I have some pasta salad too?

  9. 9

    Rural Vegan said,

    I think I could eat my own body weight in cold pasta salad during the summer. I love the big orange shells you found for yours!

  10. 10

    Now that’s a fishy wrap that I could go for!

  11. 11

    Okay, you just made two of my favorite things. I adore cold pasta salad, especially in the steamy summer months, and oven roasted potatoes are the best all year round!

  12. 12

    erica said,

    Yum, every dish you have there looks delicious!

  13. 13

    Aly said,

    Thanks everyone :)!

  14. 14

    Andrea said,

    That pasta looks so good. I don’t think I’ve ever had whole wheat bow-ties and I want
    some! And the potatoes are making me wish I’d been more ambitious at tonight’s dinner.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

