Tofurky deli slices

Following a visit to a registered dietitian, I realised that I have not been eating enough protein to meet the needs of my moderately active lifestyle. One of the dietitian’s suggestions was to make sure to include a source of protein with every snack. Since I cannot eat nuts as a quick and easy source of protein, I decided to try another effortless protein fix: Tofurky! I was a little bit hesitant about eating such a heavily processed food, but decided to give Tofurky deli slices a shot anyway since they are a vegan product and have no nitrates or MSG. Here are two ways that I tried it:

Tofurky kale wrap: avocado slices, tomatoes, one lettuce leaf, green and red onion, black olives, mustard and two Tofurky deli slices on a large kale leaf.

Salad: lettuce, green onions, red onions, scapes, grated carrot, cocktail tomatoes, sauerkraut, black olives and shredded Tofurky slices with a mustard and Balsamic vinegar dressing.

Although I have not eaten turkey in a few years, I would say that the taste and texture of the hickory smoked Tofurky deli slices are a fair approximation of real smoked turkey cold cuts. I did not give up meat because of a dislike for the taste and as such, I enjoyed this product.

– Aly

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nicole said,

    What kind of tofurkey slices did you get? I tried a weird variety once and it was no good! The wrap looks soooo good!

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    Those *look* good–how did they taste?
    Before I found out about my gluten allergy, I tried the Tofurkey loaf; a different taste, for sure, but I’ve read that the slices taste a hundred times better!
    Like you, though, I hate overly-processed foods! Nasty…

  3. 3

    Shelby said,

    I’ve actually never tried Tofurkey brand…only Lightlife. They sound delicious though!

  4. 4

    Your Tofurkey kale wraps look delicious! That’s really interesting that you went to an RD. What else did he or she say about your diet?

  5. 5

    Oh, I love to cut up Tofurky slices in a salad. So good!

  6. 6

    Mihl said,

    So beautiful! Is that raw kale? This picture would scare the hell out of everybody here in Germany, because people only eat kale if it’s cooked in lard for at least an hour. He he I am going to print out that picture and show it to my dad who is one of those people.

  7. 7

    quarrygirl said,

    i absolutely love tofurky deli slices! i eat them in pasta with olive oil and garlic. that may sound a little weird, but it’s really good. i haven’t tried them in a salad yet, but yours looks delicious!

  8. 8

    Your kale wrap is totally impressive! Such great colors.

  9. 9

    Aly said,

    Nicole and Erin, I edited my post to answer your questions! I really like it, and have already picked up some more ;)!

    The Vegan Snorkeler, I may make an entire post about that! Stay tuned :)!

    Mihl, it is raw kale from my aunt’s garden! I usually like to steam it as it is a little tough, but it is good raw :).

    quarrygirl, I wish I had read your comment before I made the pasta salad in my latest post! What a good idea!

    Thank you everybody :)!

  10. 10

    orangepop said,

    wow… fab-looking tofurkey roll-ups!
    I’m glad you’re working towards meeting your protein needs and you saw a nutritionist! How do you feel, with this change? Also, what “flavor” Tofurkey did you use? I’ve recently had the cranberry and stuffing kind and it was good, but remember having another one (peppered, maybe?) before and did not have a good experience so I’ve always been weary of those faux-deli-meats!

  11. 11

    […] This one looks pretty fun. Tofurkey kale wrap: Avocado, tomato, lettuce, onion, olives, mustard, & […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

