Mac ‘n cheeze, salads, and BBQ

Hey guys! Good news–Mad About Udon just celebrated it’s 10,000th visitor! Hard to believe that we just started this blog a couple months ago. It was only about 6 weeks ago that we celebrated our 5000th visitor. Traffic has really picked up and we’re so happy to have lots of new visitors and commenters and to visit all your blogs as well.


Okay so I have to be quick with this food post because, surprise surpise, I am not packed for my flight tomorrow morning. I came up with some interesting dishes this week:

Cheese-free Mac n’ Cheeze (I adapted the recipe from a couple others so here’s my version):

1.5 cups plain soy milk
1 cup water
1/3 cup Braggs soy sauce
1 1/2 cups nutritional yeast
1 tbsp paprika
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp salt
1/4 of a block of firm (not silken) tofu
1 tbsp canola oil
1 tbsp mustard
1.5 lbs whole wheat macaroni pasta

Cook the macaroni in a pot of boiling water. Blend everything except the macaroni to make the cheeze sauce. Pour cooked macaroni into a baking pan; pour cheeze sauce on top. Bake at 350 F for 15 minutes.


Next dish:

Udon noodle salad from here. However, it looked a little empty so I added a couple handfuls of spinach. The result? A PERFECT SALAD. A+++.

Another perfect salad, which I’ve come to eat at least 5 times a week:

Spinach-mango-strawberry-dill salad! Yum!


My mum made the following two dishes:

Fruit salad.

Barbecued sweet potatoes and white potatoes, skewered tofu and orange pepper. You can probably tell that the apple doesn't fall far from the culinary tree!


That’s all I’ve got for now. As I mentioned in the last post, O.B. and I are off to Santa Cruz, California to test whether chemists are soluble in the Pacific Ocean. Always working, us two :-)

Have a great two weeks everyone, keep checking in for Aly’s posts!

-Maureen

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Katy said,

    Happy 10,000th poster!
    Those kabobs look fabulous!

  2. 2

    VeggieGirl said,

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I love this blog :0)

    GORGEOUS salads and skewers – yum!

  3. 3

    Everything looks delicious but the Mac and Cheeze is over the top!

  4. 4

    Shelby said,

    That mac and cheese looks really good! I haven’t had it since going vegan. I’ve never tried BBQ sweet potato…I’ll have to ask my dad to fire up the grill =)

  5. 5

    Allison said,

    YAY, congrats on the post number!! Sweet potatoes are my FAVORITE…I can’t believe I’ve never thought to throw them on the grill! I have yet to make a vegan mac and cheeze…but I think you’ve inspired me to do just that!

  6. 6

    shellyfish said,

    Congrats – it’s a cool feeling when that 10,000 hits! But I’m not surprised, you have a great blog! :)

    I love playing around with vegan mac & cheeze recipes – even when it’s not great, it’s still so good!

  7. 7

    That salad looks awesome. I LOVE fresh dill, but I’d never think to add it to a salad with strawberries and pineapples. Yum!

  8. 8

    Aimee said,

    i love love love grilled sweet potatoes, maybe I need to have those with dinner!

  9. 9

    Cecilia said,

    WOW!!! CONGRATS ON GETTING 10,000 VISITORS!!! Your blog is AWESOME! Keep up the great work <3333

    Oh btw, it’s 2.00 am here in Aus … and I’m drooling at the picture of your mac and cheeze … looks SO good!! And oh, that fruit salad looks SUPER YUM!!

  10. 10

    Liz² said,

    so much beautiful food in this post! and I love your mac’n’cheese recipe, it looks really solid and there’s nothing weird in it (woohoo!). have fun on your trip! :D

  11. 11

    Andrea said,

    Congratulations on the 10,000! Those salads all look so good – just what I need here to combat the heat.

  12. 12

    Katie said,

    Congrats on your popularity! You deserve it. Great photos :)

  13. 13

    orangepop said,

    That dill on the salad looks like it’s crawling over the fruit and veggies! How do you get your tofu to not stick to the grill? I’ve yet to have success with this way of cooking it!

  14. 14

    jessy said,

    your mac ‘n cheeze looks sooooo tasty! and all those salads are just perfect for summer! mmmmmmmmm!

  15. 15

    Jen said,

    OMG Maureen, your blog makes me so hungry!
    I really want to try that macaroni and no-cheese.

  16. 16

    Jen said,

    I made the Mac n’ Cheeze!
    It’s good, and I really like it, but it tastes nothing like cheese.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

