Brussels sprouts and caramelized onion

Although this may not be the most photogenic or time efficient dish, it is quite a tasty one!

My method was fairly standard and modified from the following recipes which I found online:

Brussels sprouts and caramelized onion

1 T vegetable oil
1 onion, quartered and evenly sliced (not too thick)
1 c Brussels sprouts, outside leaves removed and thinly sliced
½ t sea salt
1 T balsamic vinegar
½ t black pepper
¼ c kidney beans (optional)

1. Begin to caramelize the onion in a large non-stick pan. Online tutorials here and here. Keep pan at medium-high temperature. Be sure to monitor the onion pieces carefully and stir fairly regularly to make sure that they do not burn. Do not rush! (Note: I attempted to do this without oil, and it took significantly longer as I had to wait for the water to evaporate before the caramelization process began.)
2. Stir in the sea salt.
3. As the onions begin to brown, stir in the hashed Brussels sprouts.
4. When the onions and Brussels sprouts are both completely caramelized, stir in the vinegar, black pepper, and kidney beans. (Note: many of the recipes I found for this dish included pistachios or almonds. I can not eat tree nuts and had to use a substitute. This recipe, which would require vegan modification, uses lentils.)

Makes enough for one incredibly delicious serving.

– Aly

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cecilia said,

    Thank you for the recipe … it is now in my recipe folder … along with 100000000 other recipes ;0)

  2. 2

    This is great! So healthy and tasty looking. Caramelized onions really are one of my favorite things!

  3. 3

    VeggieGirl said,

    Looks pretty photogenic to me; and totally worth the effort!! YUM!!

  4. 4

    Katy said,

    I love carmelized onions on everything, so this dish looks perfect to me!

  5. 5

    Shelby said,

    mmm, this looks heavenly! I’ve never tried brussels sprouts but I think I might have to now.

  6. 6

    Theresa said,

    I’ve recently learned that I absolutely love brussels sprouts, so I’ll have to give this recipe a go. Thanks for visiting my blog, and of course you can add me to your blog roll–as long as you don’t mind if I do the same :-)

  7. 7

    Nicole said,

    I made this tonight! It was so good. Thanks for the recipe!

  8. 8

    Aly said,

    Thanks everybody :)! If you try it out, be sure to let me know how it goes!

    Theresa: excellent!

    Nicole: I am really glad you liked it :D!

  9. 9

    This looks so tasty. And there must be something in the air, because I have a caramelized onion recipe in the hopper for tomorrow! But I put mine in a dip, not so healthy as your recipe.

  10. 10

    Ben said,

    I finally found your blog!

    Tasty.

  11. 11

    I love Brussels but I usually get stuck in a rut where I only roast them with a little oil. This looks like an awesome and different use…

  12. 12

    shellyfish said,

    Two of my most favourite things in one dish?!?! Love it! Sounds & looks delicious!

  13. 13

    I love the sound of this ugly little dish and can’t wait to try it!
    Feel free to add us to your blogroll, I’ll be adding you!
    In a funny coincidence, ourr blog is manned by two vegan Science dropouts, we’ve both transferred to Internet studies.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

