Wild rice pilaf, sushi, and simple salsa

I visted all the sites that Aly posted in her last entry, and found some amusement at the comments left at the source by non-vegetarians.
Like everyone reading this, I am surrounded by 99% omnivores. Really, fair enough. To each his own. And I do have a stockpile of whip-smart responses to the mundane, repetetive questions/accusations about veganism that I get all the time (you know which ones I’m talking about!).
But, by far there is one agitating, vexatious argument that omnivores use to challenge vegetarians/vegans which never fails to incite me. “Oh yeah, well *studies* show that plants have feelings too, so what’s the point in being a vegan if you’re committing murder anyway? You’re murdering plants.” Honestly, there is just NO response to that except for a profound *blank stare*. I just quietly assume at that point that some people are born with significantly less brain cells than the rest of us. /rant.

What is your MOST ANNOYING argument against veganism?? Leave it in the comments :-)

Now, I’ve just returned back to Toronto from Ottawa after a week. Here’s some stuff that O.B. and I noshed on while up there:


Wild Rice Pilaf

2 cans (14 oz each) vegetarian broth
1 ¾ cup Uncooked wild rice
1 large onion, chopped
4 medium carrots, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
2 tsp fresh parsely
¼ cup vegan margarine (i.e. Earth Balance)
3 cups Fresh broccoli florets
¼ tsp pepper

In a large saucepan bring broth to a boil. Add wild rice; reduce heat. Cover and cook for 30 minutes until liquid is absorbed and rice is tender. Meanwhile in a large skillet, sauté the onion, carrots, garlic and parsely in margarine until vegetables are tender. Stir in the rice, broccoli and pepper.
Transfer to a baking dish. Cover and bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes or until broccoli is tender crisp. Fluff with fork before serving. Makes 10 servings.


Since the sushi options in Ottawa are strikingly awful (as in expensive and markedly poor in terms of quality), I’ve always just made it myself. All you do is cook sushi rice according to instructions, add 1 tbsp rice vinegar for every cup of dry rice, and arrange your fillings (carrots, cucumber, zucchini, avocado, bean sprouts, tofu, etc) on top of a bed of rice smeared onto a nori sheet. Then roll up and slice with a clean, wet knife. Serve with soy sauce and pickled ginger.



We also had nachos & salsa with O.B.‘s salsa recipe, which really only has two ingredients: tomatoes and cilantro. This different is that he hacks it to pieces until it’s nearly liquified.

I must admit, for a three ingredient dish (nachos, tomatoes, cilantro), this was really, really good and will go down in my book of “very cheap, simple meals to make on busy nights”.

Have a great weekend… GO SEE THE X-FILES MOVIE!!

-Maureen

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    The most annoying argument against veganism is definitely the protein/nutrient one – it’s like, “Oh my goodness, no meat, dairy, or other animal product?? You’re going to die!!” Um, no, but thanks anyway. I’m lucky that these comments have only been made by strangers (literally), and NOT by my family and friends (who are all 100% supportive, which is amazing and makes me feel truly blessed).

    Oh MAN that salsa looks divine – yum!! And I’m quite impressed by your sushi-making skills – gorgeous!!

  2. 2

    I usually get the “I could never do it I like cheese too much.” I really haven’t come up with a satisfactory response.
    Your sushi looks great!

  3. 3

    Where do you get your protein?

    If I’m in a mean mood, I’ll respond by asking the person, “Where do you get YOUR 5 servings of fruits and veggies per day?”

    Or I’ll just point to gorillas– they’re vegan, and they’re HUGE! Obviously, there’s no lack of protein in their diets!

  4. 4

    shellyfish said,

    When are stubborn, undeducated folks going to get it through their heads that plants are not sentient beings?!? So silly. But, people tell themselves what they need to in order to feel less guilty. Usually those that react the most violently are the ones who really feel that what they are doing is wrong, but they don’t know why…

    And you’re pilaf & sushi would look so much better here in my kitchen with me! :)

  5. 5

    charmedquark said,

    oh boy I loove vegan sushi, I make it at home all the time. Your food looks so good..
    Hey, ps. I’m from vegan/alt/perth, and It’d be great to get added to your blogroll, I’ll add you right back =D <3

  6. 6

    Cecilia said,

    Hrmm I have many annoying questions ….

    1. You know protein is important right?!
    2. What’s left to eat if you go vegan…
    3. Life’s too short to deprived yourself in that manner

    Sigh …

    Anyhoos, I LOVE pilafs!! Yum!! And oh my, your sushi looks spectacular … mind popping some into my mouth?!! ;0)

    WOW … only tomatoes and cilantro …. I will try that soon … perfect for a lazy person like me!! :-DD

  7. 7

    Cecilia said,

    oh btw, I watched the X Files yesterday … you mentioned in Erin’s blog something about the credit … was DID I MISS!!! EMAIL ME if you don’t want to say it here … I can’t believe I miss something!!

  8. 8

    Aimee said,

    Everything in this post looks amazing. This makes me want to make veggie sushi tonight.

  9. 9

    Ricki said,

    Some wonderful dishes here–the sushi looks great!

  10. 10

    quarrygirl said,

    that sushi looks SOOOO good. i made sushi a few time a couple years ago and found it really difficult. it all kept falling to pieces on me! i think your pix have inspired me to make again though. everything looks so delicious!

  11. 11

    Sean said,

    You should try fresh mango sliced, with fresh basil leaves, wrapped in sushi rice and nori. Sounds weird, but it is good!

  12. 12

    Knits With Carrots said,

    Love your blog! I can definitely identify with the annoying veggie questions (I still get them as a vegetarian, but I got considerably more as a vegan). I feel like my best response to the plant-pain question (other than informing them that a plant responding to the stimulus of being cut is quite different than experiencing pain) was to look at them like they’re nuts and ask them what they wanted me to do with that situation.

    I also always love the “If you’re on a desert island with a PIG, would you eat it?” I was always curious about how I got the pig… and what it was eating…

    Anyway! Totally inspired by your blog to keep the focus on eating vegetables as a vegetarian. Yum.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

