Quick update

Hi everybody!

Sorry about my absence! I have been taking some time to myself to adapt to a few new allergies. Thankfully, Maureen has been doing a wonderful job of maintaining the blog! As some of you may recall, I was beginning to suspect that I had developed an allergy to peanuts. A trip to the allergist confirmed my suspicion; I also discovered that I have developed a raspberry allergy. Now that Bluesfest is over, and my allergic reactions have settled down again, I will be able to start posting again :)!

In the mean time, here are two interesting articles which were brought to our attention:

If you have any articles you would like to share with us, or have any feedback, please feel free to send us an e-mail (mad[dot]about[dot]udon[at]gmail[dot]com)!

– Aly

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Ahh, so sorry that you’re allergic to peanuts :0( Hang in there!!

    Interesting articles, indeed!

  2. 2

    Maureen said,

    I’d have the biggest problem with the fruits and veggies, not to mention the coffee (and water…?). Does anyone know of a good internet resource for finding out which crops are in season in a certain part of the world?

  3. 3

    Damn that sucks about the allergies! I hear peanut allergies are especially hard to deal with since so many foods are manufactured in facilities that also manufacture peanut products. Boo!

  4. 4

    Aly said,

    Thanks for the sympathies, VeggieGirl :)!

    Maureen, Foodland Ontario has an availability guide for seasonal fruits and veggies.

    Bianca, I have been coping with a tree nut allergy since the fall which has prepared me to deal with the complications of nut contamination and it definitely is a huge bummer! Store bought baked goods, bulk foods and many prepared foods are no longer an available convenience. Manufacturers tend to be more aware of peanut allergies than tree nut allergies, which make checking those labels somewhat more difficult!

  5. 5

    Oh no! Those are two of my favorite foods! But at least you know what to avoid… my sister has allergies and she still is in the dark as to what fruits will trigger a reaction and which ones won’t– so frustrating.

  6. 6

    shellyfish said,

    Geeze! I’m so sorry to hear about your allergies, but like Katie said, at least now you have the knowledge to avoid what is bothering you! :)

  7. 7

    Aly said,

    Katie: Haha, unfortunately, I still have a bunch of mysterious fruit allergies as well :)! I usually make a quick run to the grocery store and pick up as many fruits as I can when I have an appointment; they require fresh samples to test and they don’t usually keep ’em on hand. Best of luck to your sister… It isn’t a fun learning process!!

    Shelly: Thanks :).

  8. 8

    orangepop said,

    That’s wayyy too bad about the allergy. Does that mean almonds, seeds, and other nuts are okay- just not peanuts?! That would be great! Thanks for the websites, too!

  9. 9

    I’m sorry to hear about your allergy (allergies suck) but at the same time I am glad you are now aware of it so you can adapt accordingly. With each of my allergies, I was really upset at first but later realized it was just opening up a new food world for me to experiment in. I wish you much happy baking, cooking and blogging to come!

  10. 10

    Sorry to hear of your allergies! Glad you’re feeling better and back to the blog.

  11. 11

    Allison said,

    I’m sorry about your allergies! Try Sunbutter in place of peanut butter :0) Thanks for the articles…I’m about to read the benefits of going vegan- yay!!

  12. 12

    Cecilia said,

    Sorry about your allergies – poor you! :0( Glad that you’re feeling better though :0D Can’t wait to see your post soon!!

  13. 13

    rach-ums said,

    Bummer about the allergies! Love the articles though. :)

  14. 14

    Lizzy said,

    Oh man, so sorry to hear that =(
    Now I hope you weren’t a peanut lover galore living off PB so it won’t be that much of a slap in the face.
    And raspberries, too? aww crap *sympathy hug*

  15. 15

    jessy said,

    oh man – that stinks on the food allergies! thanks for the awesome articles though! i’m gonna go read ’em now! :)

  16. 16

    welcome to the peanut allergy world… it SUCKS@!!!!!!!

    but there are lots of alternatives. the most recent thing I found is called Sun Butter… its like peanutbuter but is made from sunflower seeds… ive never had real peanut butter since im allergic but my boyfriend tells me its really close to the real thing!!!!

  17. 17

    Aly said,

    Thanks for all the kind words everybody!!!

  18. 18

    quarrygirl said,

    whaaaaaaaa???!??!?!??! PEANUTS????!?!??! damnit, that blows. i am so sorry. found your blog recently, and i LOVE it! best of luck with fighting the allergies and rockin’ the great posts. maureen has been doing a splendid job, and i am looking forward to hearing more from you (aly) as well!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

