“Goodbye” food

My multi-day hiatus from posting was due to my abrupt decision to pack up and leave Ottawa—permanantly—for Toronto. It seemed like the right time, but after four years in Ottawa I had a fair number of in-person goodbyes to issue. This means making “goodbye” desserts (aka Something to Remember Me By) and multiple beers/coffees/dinners.

I find the best way to mitigate an awkward situation (like a goodbye chat that would otherwise end in “Er, have a nice life?”) is to make cupcakes. So all my fave professors, admin, and friends in the Science Faculty at the U of O got Golden Vanilla Cupcakes (from VCTOTW) with Buttercream Frosting (also from VCTOTW) with Nucleus symbols hand-painted on the top:

I made 24 of these puppies and got pretty great responses. This is seriously as elaborate as my desserts get.

My friend Michael and I went to dinner at the East African Restaurant, where I had the Yemisr Wot (lentil stew served on a spongy bread) and a green salad. It was sooo filling, but I forgot my camera. I also forgot my camera for the grilled veggie wrap + fries that I had at the Royal Oak on the campus with my friend Frank.

For my last night, O.B. and I went to Milestone’s downtown, which is perched on an enviable escarpment near the Chateau Laurier and the Byward Market. Great view, great crowd, and GREAT drinks and food.

Razzberry-Mint cocktail

Thai Noodle Salad with Artichoke Hearts

I’ve got a bunch of photos to post from this week, but stay tuned for my adventures in veganism in Toronto. For now… unpacking :-( :-(

-Maureen

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Those cupcakes are gorgeous; and that noodle salad looks absolutely delectable! Yum!

    Best of luck with your new life in Toronto!! Can’t wait to read about it :0)

  2. 2

    Matt said,

    The cupcakes were melt-in-your-mouth delicious! Milestone’s couldn’t have been better! mmmmm… strong Razzberry cocktails!

  3. 3

    Ricki said,

    Congrats on moving to Toronto–you’ll love it! And those nuclei–amazing!! :)

  4. 4

    Cecilia said,

    OMG! I just discovered that you’re a science student like ME!! I’m NOT alone!!! hehehe, excuse my weirdness!

    The cupcakes are so CUTE! I love the nucleus symbols that you drew, hahaha!!

    Btw, you like VEGEMITE!! zomg! A non-aussie who loves vegemite?!! well I heart you!! I personally like vegemite on toast with mashed bananas – a weird combination that NONE of my friends like :0(

  5. 5

    quarrygirl said,

    those cupcakes look sooooo good. I really wish I had friends like you to say goodbye to. What a great idea to bake all those treats!!

  6. 6

    Just found your blog via the comment you left on mine! Love that canada day cake!!!! mmmmm…..cake! I love cake!

  7. 7

    Allison said,

    Homemade desserts are the BEST way to say goodbye :0) I love the nucleus decorations! Best of luck in Toronto…can’t wait to see pictures!

  8. 8

    I’ve never been to Ottawa nor Toronto… but I hope to go to both someday soon. Good luck with your move!

    I just love that recipe for Golden Vanilla Cupcakes! VCTOTW rocks!

  9. 9

    Impressive decorating skills! Good luck with your move.

  10. 10

    jessy said,

    your cuppycakes look so fun & delicious! i wish i had one to put in my face! :) and i look forward to all the awesomeness from toronto! hooooooooooooooooooray!

  11. 11

    What a great idea! Whenever I finally move away from my world here in Memphis (if it ever happens!), I’ll keep that in mind. Goodbye cupcakes!

  12. 12

    I LOVE your scientific cupcakes!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

