Canada—FUCK YEAH!!

This took way too long to make. Not that I’d wish to live in Libya or anything… but the flag would have been a lot freakin’ easier. Happy Canada Day everyone!! I’m going to celebrate by getting injured and going to get free health care. Fuck yeah, I love Canada!

(The pic above is banana bread, recipe listed here; icing recipe found here)

-Maureen

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Haha, Happy Canada Day!! That banana bread is so beautifully decorated!!

  2. 2

    jessy said,

    hooray for canada day! your cake made me smile! i love it!

    i wish we had free healtcare. sadface. but happyface for fun cananda cake! sweet gloriousness!

  3. 3

    jessy said,

    i would like to add in the “h” that’s missing from my post. i got so excited about canada day i forgot to spell stuff! ahahahahhha. awesome.

    can i also subtract an “n”, too?

    apparently it’s typo day for me!

  4. 4

    Evey said,

    Happy Canada Day!

    Even though I am not Canadian, I still want to partake in the festivites. May you send me a slice please? :-D

    Btw, thanks for your comments on mt blog.. love yours as well!

  5. 5

    Romina said,

    Wicked cake!!!

  6. 6

    I LOL’d at the Libyan flag… That certainly would have been easier, but then, also much less impressive. Your cake looks fantastic! Yum!

    Happy Canada Day!

  7. 7

    Cecilia said,

    Wow, that cake is soooo beautifully decorated! Gosh, the maple leaf must have took a long time to make!

  8. 8

    quarrygirl said,

    happy canada day! that cake looks awesome!

  9. 9

    You Canadians, with the free health care and pretty flag! Rub it in why don’t ya? :)

  10. 10

    Allison said,

    Happy (belated) Canada day!! I’ve always wanted to go there…seeing as I like to live vicariously through the characters on Degrassi haha. That cake looks beautiful!! Thanks for the cookbook ideas…I really need to get my hands on V’con–I’ve heard so many great things about it. And thanks for the camera tips!! I realized that I can switch the mode to indoors, outdoors, etc, so hopefully after lots of practice, my pics will come out clearer! :0)

  11. 11

    Tasmia said,

    Ooooooh pretty! Good job Mo! I wanted to also bake and decorate something extravagant for Canada Day, but then we decided we wanted vegan cheesecake instead, which isn`t really conducive to flag-applying. And then I never made it because we got too busy. But this is totally what I am making next year…or, like, next weekend heee hee :)

  12. 12

    Wow, I love the cake… errr, banana bread! Happy Canada Day!

  13. 13

    Yea for Canada! I love Canada too and I’ve never even been there. I just now that it’s way more open-minded policy-wise (and probably people-wise) than my silly country. If it wasn’t so damn cold there, I’d move to Canada…

  14. 14

    Oops. I meant, I “know” that it’s way more open-minded…

  15. 15

    brook said,

    happy belated canada day – this is so beautiful, i should forward this post to my canadian vegan friends!

  16. 16

    Allison said,

    Aww, I love happy best friend stories! It’s so nice to find that one, special friend you know you can always count on! We’re lucky we’ve found ours! :0)

  17. 17

    Liz² said,

    happy happy C-DAY!!! You totally did it right!

  18. 18

    Sophie said,

    We’d like to invite you to participate in our July berry recipe contest. All competitors will be placed on our blogroll, and the winner will receive a fun prize! Please email me, sophiekiblogger@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details. (Click on my name in the message header link to visit our blog. :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

