Zucchini bread

This recipe comes from The Vegan Next Door. The vegan blogosphere has exploded with zucchini-related posts in the last week, to my great confusion, since zucchinis don’t seem to be that proliferous at the markets here in Ottawa.

I hope The Vegan Next Door doesn’t mind me re-posting her recipe (with my adaptations), since I can’t seem to link to the original posting.

Zucchini Bread with Streussel Crust

Batter
3 “flax eggs” (or 3 egg equivalents like En-R-G egg replacement)
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups granulated sugar
2 cups grated zucchini
2 tsps vanilla extract
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
¼ tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
½ cup chopped walnuts

Crust
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 tbsp 100% vegetable oil margarine, softened
2 tsp cinnamon
½ cup chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 325º. Grease and flour two 8×4 inch loaf pans (or 8×8 square pan).
2. Batter: In a large bowl, mix egg replacer until light and frothy. Mix in oil and sugar. Stir in zucchini and vanilla. Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, salt and nuts; stir into the egg replacer mixture. Divide batter into prepared pans.
3. Crust: Combine all ingredients in medium sized bowl. Mix together really well (best to use your hands) and crumble on top of the batter prior to baking.
4. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until done. (It took 90 minutes a 8×8 pan)

I took this cake to a little get-together and everyone said they liked it. I think there’s too much oil in the recipe so if I made it again I’d replace half of it with applesauce.

Thanks again to The Vegan Next Door for the idea!

-Maureen

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Mmm, I haven’t had zucchini bread in ages!! Looks wonderful.

  2. 2

    Mmm… walnuts, zucchini, sounds great! Sorry to hear you don’t have many zucchini in your parts. I found the cutest ones last Saturday at the Farmers’ Market that are shaped like softballs.

  3. 3

    julieannef said,

    Yum-I like zucchini in baked goods.

  4. 4

    I have been craving zucc bread. i also like my breads crusty—you’ve made my tummy very excited…. must go buy zuccini!

  5. 5

    Allison said,

    Thank you both!! It took me a few days and dealing with a LOT of messy crumbs to make both of the cakes…but it payed off in the end! Oh my goodness, I looove zucchini bread…I need to try this recipe~The streusel crust looks amazing!
    PS…do you mind if I add you both to my blogroll?

  6. 6

    wow seriously im making this tomorrow… WOWOWOWOWOWWOW I LOVE zucchini

  7. 7

    I love zucchini bread! Its just starting to come in at our farmer’s market, so a little later this month, there will a zucchini surplus. I’ll bookmark this recipe.

  8. 8

    oatmeal said,

    This recipe couldn’t have come at a better time! I need something to make for a lab potluck–can’t wait to try this out!

  9. 9

    Natalie said,

    Hey Ottawa ladies! I’m in Ottawa, too. Are you going to the next veg society potluck? I really want to go the the next one. I’ve been to one, but it was months and months ago.
    Also, my best Ottawa vegan tip – agar is super cheap at Grace Foods (for your gelling needs).

  10. 10

    Brook said,

    wow i love your blog! i came from the ccv’s site because the blog title was so intriguing!

  11. 11

    Michael said,

    Witness! I had Maureen’s zucchini bread last weekend and it was a delight. I recommend.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

