Easy Moroccan Couscous

The University of Ottawa has crappy, crappy, crappy food. Unbelievably bad. It’s like WW2-era, desperately overpriced rations. Thank christ I couldn’t afford the meal plan in first year, else I might have contracted scurvy. Because you can be damn sure I wouldn’t buy a soft, crinkled apple for $1.70. Screw you, Chartwells, you’re not getting a cent of my money!

Where am I going with this? Oh yeah, I once reviewed the food court at Carleton University for a Fulcrum article. Holy crap was it ever good (but expensive). I remember the Moroccan-spiced couscous blew me away. (ALSO THE SOY MILK ON TAP!!!)

Most of the recipes for Moroccan couscous have an extensive list of ingredients. I’m at the point right now, financially, where I can’t spend $5 on tons of new ingredients. So although this recipe might not be crazy authentic, it is damn easy and you probably have most of the ingredients in your cupboard or fridge.

Easy Moroccan Couscous

4 tbsp vegan margarine
3/4 cup chopped shallots
3 cups vegatarian stock
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 1/2 cups couscous
1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted
1/4 cup currants
3/4 cup shredded zucchini (optional; I just added this because I had it)

In large sauce pan, melt butter. Add the shallots and cook for 3 minutes over medium heat. Add stock, salt and pepper, raise the heat to high and bring the stock to a boil. Turn off the heat and add the couscous and zucchini; stir. Cover the pan and let it sit for 10 minutes. Add pine nuts and currants, and fluff with a fork

I served the couscous with (counter-clockwise from the couscous): sweet-potato soup, steamed vegetable dim-sum buns from Chinatown, naan for dipping in the soup (not vegan, for O.B.), and dipping sauce for the dim sum buns (1:3 hoisin:sweet-thai-chilli sauces). Perfect for a night in with Lost on DVD!

-Maureen

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Romina said,

    We have Chartwells at the U of C too, and it sucks! It’s ridiculous how pricey it is, and so vegan unfriendly.

  2. 2

    Wow! What a spread of delicious food, well done!

  3. 3

    orangepop said,

    Hey! I found you through “Sweet Eats.” I am loving your food and blog :)

  4. 4

    shellyfish said,

    This dinner looks delish! I want some of almost everything!

  5. 5

    Freakin’ soy milk on tap?!! That’s better Fat Tire Ale on tap! And your couscous looks delish. Reminds me that I haven’t eaten couscous in a while. I should do that.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

