Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango

I hate waiting for fruits/veggies to ripen! Such is my major frustration with mangoes, avocadoes, bananas, , etc. (Apples & carrots, FTW!!). Three weeks ago I bought a mango to make Mango-Avocado Guacamole and after 2 weeks (seriously!) of waiting for it to ripen, I manically hacked into it with a machete (okay, just a knife). It was still hard as a rock and I forlornly threw it out. Later that day I found 3 mangoes at the grocery store in the “50% off because these are so ripe they are about to go bad” section. Victory against the mangoes! Two went into the guacamole and with one to spare, I made Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango from Veganomicon:

It was colourful and nutritious, to be sure, but 3/5 for taste. I couldn’t even detect the mango. This is only my second Veganomicon experiment, the first one being my wildly successful and often-repeated Pumpkin Cake with Pecan Streusel Topping. I think I’ll probably shelve this recipe and try another one from the book.

Happy Canada Day long weekend everyone!

-Maureen

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Trish said,

    This looks really good!

  2. 2

    VeggieGirl said,

    Thank goodness you were able to use the avocados for that dish – it looks wonderful!

  3. 3

    I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one…haven’t tried it yet though. I hate cutting mangoes, such a pain.

  4. 4

    luperkal said,

    I like that recipe a lot, but agree that the mango flavor is lacking. I think the strong flavors in the dressing just overwhelm it. I might try doubling the mango next time.

  5. 5

    Romina said,

    I agree about the salad, I find it sounds better than it is. But still delicious!

  6. 6

    HEY~ thanks for commenting on my blog~!!! Your salad looks delish! mangos are probably my favorite fruit!

  7. 7

    Liz² said,

    this salad is so simple that it really depends on the produce… and I usually add extra vinegar and extra mango if I’ve got it. anyway, it *looks* pretty as always!

  8. 8

    hey! ya i was just gunna ask if i could add you!!

  9. 9

    It looks tasty!! I gotta work on my quinoa cooking skills. My last batch was all gummy. Yours looks great.

  10. 10

    Ricki said,

    I must be the only person on earth who hasn’t made that quinoa salad yet! But mango guacamole sure sounds interesting. . .


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

