Potluck Pickings

There are plenty of unorthodox things I’ve been known to do to pumpkins, but more than anything I fancy baking ’em.

Veganomicon is heralded as the trendy book-du-jour for vegans, and I had yet to try any recipes because I’m lazy, poor, and the recipes seem overly complicated. But this week I popped my Veganomicon cherry with a recipe for Pumpkin Cake with Pecan Streusel topping. I brought it to a potluck and it was a hit! Since then I’ve made it twice more for various occasions and have only gotten outrageously complimentary feedback.

I used the wrong size cake pan so it was moist and kinda like pie in the middle, which I actually found awesome. (There’s an American Pie joke in there somewhere)

I also made one of my fave recipes, which I already posted but I think this is a nice picture. Thai Noodle Salad with Peanut Dressing:

Recipe posted here.

I think my potluck contributions were well-received by all. Which is good because I have another damn potluck next week.

Finally I just want to shout a big WHOO HOO because Mad About Udon just passed its 5000th visitor after having opened its doors just a couple months ago. Thanks for visiting!

 -Maureen

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    The pumpkin cake looks so amazing… I have to cook soon for a party, maybe I’ll try it! (only, I cannot find pecans…).
    And congrats on your more than 5000 visitors!

  2. 2

    Cyn said,

    Yum! I love baking with pumpkin, it’s so tasty. Those thai noodles look tasty too.

  3. 4

    Taymer said,

    will try this next week
    Feel free to check out my blog


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

