Green and pasta salads

Last week I had the pleasure of eating at Cafe Soup’Herbe in Old Wakefield, Quebec with two friends, another vegetarian and a veggie-happy omnivore. C’était superbe!! It’s a vegetarian cafe but the vegan options were marked on the menu. The cafe itself was rustic and comfortable, nestled at the foothills of Gatineau Park. I was rather surprised to find such a veggie gem in a small cluster of town and stores, in Quebec no less (the Quebecois love their meat). Soup’Herbe is only a 15 minute drive from Ottawa, and could easily be accessed before or after a hike in the Gatineau Hills.

I ordered the Soup’Herbe salad, which was amazing! If I said that this salad was colossal, it would be a reckless understatement. It was also so beautifully arranged that I almost felt bad about eating it. It contained everything–alfalfa sprouts, green and purple lettuce (I’m bad at diagnosing lettuce types), carrots, cucumbers, red onions, tomatoes, croutons…and probably other stuff I can’t remember. It was served in a tasty vinaigrette dressing.

I’ll definitely go back to Cafe Soup’Herbe anytime!

For lunches this week I made a pasta salad using organic multicoloured rotini, low-fat lemon poppyseed dressing, and all the veggies in my fridge that I thought were going to go bad (orange and yellow peppers, cucumbers, bean sprouts). Unfortunately, I made one mistake…. upon the discovery that I didn’t have any tofu left (grilled or pan-fried tofu makes great “croutons”) I subbed with textured vegetable protein (TVP) slices. Yuck. They were limp and watery and cold. Other than that, this salad was decent but I wouldn’t made it again without tofu.

I usually perk up a tepid salad by adding crunchy red onions sauteed in balsamic vinegar (don’t overcook!). The red onions absorb the perfect amount of vinegar so as to explode with deliciousness when they are bit into.

 

I hope everyone has lovely weekend plans ahead…the weather looks great for Ottawa so I’m going to head out on a 33-km rollerblade mission as soon as I post this. It’s supposed to be *really* hot today… it’s already 35 with the humidex at it’s only 9:30 am! Luckily my route takes me near a beach and I’ll be sure to Slip, Slop, and Slap, and also carry a water bottle even though it’s annoying. Have a great weekend everyone!

-Maureen

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Romina said,

    Oh that salad looks fab. Mmm!

  2. 2

    michiko280 said,

    It all looks SO delicious!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

