A Taste of Thai

There is a trend in the veganomosphere to make everything–or most things–from scratch. I have to say, I don’t agree. Okay, so cooking lots of food from scratch, like a huge pasta dish that can be portioned out for lunches, does save money in the end. But for sauces and other additives which contain obscure and expensive ingredients, I just have to ask the question: why make life more complicated than it already is? There are a lot of perfectly vegan products on the shelf that are so much tastier than anything I could ever concoct. And so convenient!

Anyway, I’m not trying to pick a fight, it’s just more of a disclaimer for the following pictures which obviously contain pre-packaged products:

 

I love the Taste of Thai Red Curry Paste, not only because it DOESN’T CONTAIN FISH PRODUCTS (!!!), but because it goes so far–one tbsp is mixed with a can of coconut milk for the curry sauce seen on the left. And there are probably about 7 tbsp in the package.

I used flat rice noodles from Chinatown for this recipe and garnished with bean sprouts (and as an afterthought not pictured, crushed peanuts).

-Maureen

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Romina said,

    I used “Thai Kitchen” red curry paste today and it has no fish either!! So exciting!

  2. 2

    Mike Ho said,

    I love Thai food… this stuff looks great. How spicy is it??? Any recommendations on how to add a good spice to a sauce/curry?

  3. 3

    Maureen said,

    It’s very spicy actually! So for this particular product I wouldn’t recommend drowning your reagents (um.. ingredients!) in it. And I don’t have an answer to your last question, unfortch…. I’ve only ever made dal from scratch, and I accidentally put WAY too much spice in.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

