Falafel balls!

Mmmm… falafel. I once penned an editorial for the campus newspaper that began “I nearly choked on my falafel when…”, seriously. And did you know that Pythagoras urged his followers not to eat falafel? I learned this in Intermediary Metabolism last semester. It’s because because traditional recipes contained fava beans, which contains divicine, which catalyse the transformation of oxygen to superoxide radical (bad!!) which are normally detoxified by glutathione peroxidase. People with glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase (essential to make glutathione peroxidase) deficiencies (~25% of the population) are unable to undergo this metabolic detoxification reaction and so face kidney failure, especially if they consume lots of fava beans!

That would be one of the 3,000,000 annoyingly meaningless facts I “learned” in university.

So… what were we talking about again? Oh yeah… falafels!

Falafels

2 cups canned chickpeas
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp fresh cilantro
1 tsp dried mint
1/2 tsp cumin
2 tbsp flour
1/2 cup medium-firm tofu
1 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
1 tbsp olive oil

The recipe indicates that all of these ingredients are to be blended until well-mixed. Unfortunatly, in addition to not having a tea strainer, my new apartment doesn’t have a blender. I did my best (somewhat pathetically) using an electric mixer, and it actually did mix pretty well… eventually.

Roll by hand into balls…..

…and then “saute balls in oil until browned on all sides”. Now, may I asked the question, how does one brown a sphere on all sides? If one browns a sphere on all sides in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it makes a sound? What is the sound of one falafel frying?

Anyway, so fry on medium high heat, in whatever way you are able, to get all sides brown. I went for Falafel Rectangular Cylinders:

I enjoyed these falafels all week in whole wheat pitas with lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, hummus, bean sprouts, BBQ sauce, and mustard.

Finally I’d just like to share the lovely breakfast I had this morning: baked marinated tofu, alfalfa sprouts and cilantro on dill-potato bread.

-Maureen

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Liz² said,

    yummy! I was eyeing the vwav falafal recipe last night, thinking that I’d never actually *made* falafal before. they sure look good enough to make!

  2. 2

    FOOD TRANCE! << said,

    ur falafel looks divine!
    this is def. going to be an upcoming experiment!!!!

    thanks for posting this fine meal.

    wurd.

    /F/T/

  3. 3

    Aly said,

    Holy smokes! They look amazing! Nicely done! Please come over and feed me!!

  4. 4

    Jen said,

    A little while ago I was at my friend Abla’s house, and she tried to cook falalfel (while I lurked about making helpful suggestions such as “is it supposed to smell like burning?” and “it looks like soup”)
    and it didn’t really work. It wouldn’t stick together.
    Good job!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

