Best vegan brownies

I’ve tried a number of vegan brownies and I do think that my favourite is from The Garden of Vegan. I didn’t actually make these; O.B. (Omnivore Boyfriend) did and I was very impressed.

Decadent Brownies:

1.5 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup white sugar
1.5 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1.5 cups soy milk
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl sift flour, cocoa, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add oil, soy milk, nuts. Stir gently until just mixed. Pour into 8X8 inch pan and cook for 30-35 minutes. (Check by inserting a toothpick).

Chocolate Icing:

1/4 cup veg shortening
1/4 cup vegan margarine
1/2 cup cocoa powder
2.5 cups sifted sugar
3 tbsp soy milk
1.5 tsp vanilla extract

Mix margarine and shortening. Add cocoa powder and milk. Add sugar in 1/2 cups portions with soy milk; mix well. Add vanilla and beat until light and fluffy.

I took some of these brownies on a hike in Gatineau, Quebec today, and my friend Taras and I chowed down at a beautiful lookout. I’m sure I consumed all the calories I’d just burned!

-Maureen

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Liz² said,

    those brownies do look perfect! and I have to thank you for posting all these sarah kramer recipes, I used to have How it All Vegan and I lost in a long time ago and still miss some of the food in there. Next time I make brownies, I’m making these!

  2. 2

    Alisa said,

    Are these cakier type brownies?

  3. 3

    Maureen said,

    Yes, they are rather cakey. As in, less decadent and chewy.

  4. 4

    Jen said,

    I miss your vegan brownies!

  5. 5

    Delina said,

    Hi! I found this blog while searching for this specific recipe from the book. I just want to say, this recipe is worth finding and keeping! It is the best brownie recipe I have come across in my life… and also very versatile (for example, it works with different kinds of flours, and I often add a can of mashed kidney beans to the mix, I know it sounds gross but it doesn’t affect the taste and adds protein, extra fibre and makes them a little bit healthier!). Thanks for posting!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

