La Bottega Nicastro’s unbelievably good pasta sauce

La Bottega Nicastro‘s is a local Italian gourmet food mart in Ottawa. I’m not Italian nor do I “love” Italian food–but hot damn: you make a good sauce, Mr Nicastro!

Each of these jars was $2.99. This stuff is downright drinkable. I made a pasta dish using a jar of Wood Oven Roasted Garlic pasta sauce, and a package of Organic “Fantasia” brown rice pasta. The “Fantasia” aspect probably refers to the whimsical shapes which were totally fun to play with (yes, I’m 23…):

Of course, I threw in fresh cilantro because it’s like… crack to me. And I put it in everything. I served this gluten-free dish with Art-Is-In dill & potato bread (obvs not GF) from the Natural Food Pantry.

-Maureen

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aly said,

    Haha! Adorable!!

  2. 2

    Oh my gosh, I totally understand your infatuation with the shaped pasta! There’s a pasta company here in Texas that has Texas-shaped pasta—I think it actually tastes better too :o).

    Your blog is great; I’m adding you to my blogroll.

  3. 3

    Nichvapship said,

    Many of people blog about this matter but you said some true words!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

