Junk Foodz

MMMmmm, I loved a good cookie. In chemistry we have “group meetings” to which I usually bring a container of vegan cookies–they are always a hit!

Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies:

1 c Earth Balance margarine
1.5 c brown sugar
1 c white sugar
1 banana
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp water
1.75 c flour
1 tsp baking powder
2.5 c rolled oats
2.5 c vegan choc chips

Beat margarine and sugars. Add bananas and mix. Add vanilla and water, and mix. Add the rest, and mix. Cook for 9-10 mins at 350 C.

Chocolate cupcakes with vanilla icing:

The recipe is from the very popular Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World cookbook.

To be honest, I think the icing is kinda gross. This is the first time I made the cupcakes + icing… I had an earlier batch that O.B. had made for my birthday so I assumed that the icing was just icing sugar and creamy, delicious water, or something. In reality, the icing is about 40% vegetable shortening and 40% margarine… yuck! So I wouldn’t cook these for myself, but def for other people, whose arteries I care substantially less about.

-Maureen

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Liz² said,

    It’s not vanilla, but this recipe is my favourite because it IS basically sugar and creamy water! – http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6224.0
    And I love banana chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, aren’t they the best? So homey. :)

  2. 2

    Aly said,

    As you know, I am not very fond of that icing either… I don’t like the taste of vegetable shortening!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

