My first TLT

Here is my first attempt at a tempeh, lettuce and tomato (TLT) sandwich:

My TLT was based on the FFVK‘s TLT Sandwich. I did not use the liquid smoke, as I had none, included caramelized onions and used 1 T of hummus instead of vegan mayo. (I recently purchased some vegan mayo, but have been hesitant to use it due to a few unpleasant encounters with it in the past. What is your favourite vegan mayo substitute? The Vegan Feast Kitchen has a recipe for a vegan BLT with homemade mayo.) My tempeh did not mimic the taste of bacon, but was pretty dang good nonetheless!

– Aly

PS I am so excited for the Ottawa Farmer’s Market!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Romina said,

    That bread looks so good! What kind is it?

  2. 2

    Aly said,

    It is Grainsfield Bakery‘s “7-Grain Bread”, from Markham, ON. It is a dense and yummy bread, but I unfortunately will not be buying it anymore since I have just found out that they process breads containing tree nuts. (Good thing you made a comment about it ;)!)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

