Speaking of The Table: Restaurant Review

Aly mentioned The Table in her last post so I thought it would be good timing to plug this awesome place!

The Table is a pay-by-weight vegetarian restaurant that promotes healthy, fresh, organic eating. It’s located in Ottawa at 1230 Wellington St near Holland Ave. Most of the food is vegan (they maintain scrupulously precise labels) and offer plentiful gluten-free and macrobiotic options.

I went there with a friend for my birthday last month and here’s what my plate looked like:

Clockwise from carrots: Steamed carrots + kale, curry, a grainy thing (sorry, this was a month ago), red quinoa with beans, tempeh squares (yum!), a chickpea-tofu patty in mango chutney, and “zesty bulghur”.

Other vegetarian restaurants in Ottawa that I like include Perfection Satisfaction Promise (right on the U of O campus), Govinda’s, and the Green Door.

So if you ever lose your mind and decide to move to Ottawa or, you know, are just visiting, be sure to check these places out!

-Maureen

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Romina said,

    That looks like a delicious dish to feast on!

  2. 2

    Aly said,

    I know you have a special place in your Hogtown heart for Ottawa ;). I added a “Restaurants” category to our links —>

  3. 3

    Liz² said,

    oh, I know those plates! It’s been a while since I’ve eaten at the Table, but I do remember it being delicious. And I’ve never been to Govinda’s, can you believe it? I’ve had it recommended to me since high school, just never got around to it. I think I was talking to someone recently about veg restaurants and how ottawa’s actually pretty good in that category! I would agree (and your plate does look yummy!)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

