A taste of Trinidad

My mom recently returned from a trip to visit family in Trinidad. She brought back quite a few interesting foods and spices to give me a taste of her home. Here is a curry I made with a few of the things she gave me:

Saim curry:

½
onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
½ medium potato, cubed
½ c pigeon peas (from my aunt)
¼ c saim (broad beans also from Trinidad), cut in half
¼ c purple cabbage, coarsely chopped
1 c water
1 T curry powder
½ T garlic powder
1 t salt
1 tortilla

Heat a large skillet and add the onions with a small amount of water. Once the onions have become translucent, proceed to add the other vegetables and curry powder. Fry on medium-low heat for 25 minutes and add the rest of the water as necessary. I didn’t feel like making rice so I heaped the curry on to a crispy tortilla instead. With the tortilla, this meal was about 350 calories.

For dessert, I had sapodilla:

This fruit is as tasty as the Wikipedia article claims it is!

– Aly

Leave a Reply

