Carrot and parsnip curry

This is another post based on a recipe from The Ayurvedic Cookbook by Amadea Morningstar and Urmila Desai. I was inspired by the curried carrot and parsnip recipe on page 78 in particular as I had quite a bit of parsnip if the fridge and I was not sure what to do with it! The original recipe called for yogurt, but the idea of curried soy yogurt simply did not appeal to me today.

Here is my version of carrot and parsnip curry:

½ t sunflower oil
½ t black mustard seeds
½ t cumin seeds
½ t tumeric
½ t coriander powder
1 t garlic powder
1 t onion salt
½ T mystery curry powder
¼ c water
½ c coarsely chopped onion
3 cloves of garlic, minced
½ c cubed carrot
¼ c cubed parsnip
¼ c water
1 c baby spinach
⅛ c frozen green peas

Heat the oil slowly and add the mustard seeds and cumin seeds once the pan is sufficiently heated. When the mustard seeds have begun to pop, add the onion and garlic and cook on medium until the onions are translucent. Watch the onions carefully to avoid burning them, and add water as necessary. Add the carrots and parsnips with the rest of the spices and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the spinach and some more water, and simmer for another 10 minutes. Finally, add the peas and remove from heat when the peas have defrosted.

I served the vegetables with ¼ c of Lundberg short grain brown rice boiled with curry powder and shaped in to flowers.

Unfortunately, the final product was not photo-worthy, but it sure did taste great! This recipe makes one serving and is approximately 300 calories.

– Aly

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Liz² said,

    the flowers are cute, the recipe sounds scrumptious, and I love that you put the calorie count up, that’s so handy! basically, adorable blog. ^_^

  2. 2

    my husband loves curry and the ‘flowers’ are adorable… I might just have to make this meal for him :)

    p.s. thank you for commenting on HH.com!

  3. 3

    Aly said,

    Thank you :)

  4. 4

    Holly said,

    I’m going to try this, but I think I’ll replace the spinach with the greens off the parsnips. If it turns out hideous, I’ll post a warning. If you hear nothing else about it, you can assume it’s an acceptable substitution : ) Your picture makes me really hungry for it!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

