Tofu ‘n rice with spinach

I prepared this meal tonight to counteract my unpleasant experiences with too much psyllium. It is quite flavourful and filling with approximately 305 calories.

Rice
¼ c Lundberg Wehani rice
½ c water
¼ low sodium vegetable bouillon cube

Bring water to a boil with rice and bouillon cube. Cover and simmer for 45 minutes.

Tofu
tofu block
2 T soy sauce
1 t garlic powder
1 t rosemary

Preheat oven to 400 F. Press the tofu between a cloth for about ten minutes and then marinate in soy sauce and spices for fifteen minutes. Bake for ten minutes, flip and then bake for another ten minutes.

Spinach
¼ c water
½ small onion, finely chopped
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
⅛ c green onion
1 c baby spinach
1 t onion salt

Heat water in a frying pan at medium heat. Throw in the onion and garlic. Add the spinach once the onion pieces begin to turn translucent. Once the spinach has shrivelled, add the vegetable mixture to the rice and stir with onion salt. Place tofu on top and dig in. This was my first time trying Lundberg Wehani rice, a variant of basmati rice. It does indeed have a “nutty” taste and also has an pleasantly chewy texture. I definitely recommend it!

– Aly

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Blargh! said,

    I’m hungry why u post food! u mean! Make me food…blargh…blargh…..blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh

  2. 2

    Romina said,

    I haven’t tried Lundberg rice, but I see it at the store all the time, I’m always hesitant because of the price. I’ll have to give it a try now!

  3. 3

    Yum! Its look gorgeous and the flavor combination makes my mouth water.

    (your tofu looks professional!)

  4. 4

    Aly said,

    Thank you for the kind words!

  5. 5

    Crude said,

    Does anyone know where I can find Lundberg rice in the Toronto area? TIA


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

