Oatmeal cookies

I love oats. I have steel cut oats for breakfast four or five times a week and I make oatmeal cookies far too frequently! I made the cookies pictured above as a farewell to reading week on Sunday. I made a similar version* for Nic’s birthday fairly recently as well.

Oatmeal cookies:

1 ½ c oats, large flake
1 c whole wheat flour
1 T cocoa powder
½ T baking powder
½ T baking soda
1 t ground flax seed
1 t cinnamon
1 t psyllium (optional)
1 t wheat germ
½ c unsweetened applesauce
c maple syrup (baking grade)
¼ c chocolate chips
¼ c raisins

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix ingredients together. Spoon balls of cookie dough on to a lightly oiled baking sheet and flatten. Bake for 15 minutes.

I do not recommend adding psyllium unless you are prepared to face the digestive consequences of increasing your soluble fibre intake, which are mostly pretty awesome (warning: the consequences can be quite uncomfortable if you do not slowly integrate it in to your diet).

I reduce the amount of oats (1 c), flour (1-2 T), and raisins (⅛ c), add bananas (1 or 2, mashed), and cut the sweetener (sometimes I use stevia instead) and chocolate chips when I am trying to make “healthier” cookies for myself. The healthier versions tend to be more granola bar-like. When making cookies for friends skeptical of vegan baking, I *add more maple syrup (½ c) and chocolate chips (½ c).

If you are looking for a healthier way to consume your oatmeal, I highly recommend that you check out the FFVK‘s oatmeal post and Andrea’s easy vegan cooking oatmeal post. As I can no longer eat raw apples, I use a recipe similar to the apple-spice oats recipe to satisfy my apple cravings.

– Aly

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SusanV said,

    These look delicious! I’ve never put cocoa or chocolate chips in oatmeal cookies, but I’m going to have to try this.

  2. 2

    Aly said,

    It is aweeesome :)!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

