Oodles of noodles

I kind of dislike eating pasta, but it’s damn cheap and I’m obsessed with buying it. I routinely find myself perusing the aisles of Herb and Spice, Nicastro’s (Byward Mkt), and Kowloon Market (Chinatown) picking up $2-6 packages of strange-sounding (or looking) pasta. I do love udon though (in fact I’m MAD ABOUT UDON). My next pictures should involve gnocchi (potato pasta) and jasmine rice. MMMMM!

Here are some pics of recent pasta dishes I made:

This is a simple stir-fry. I heated broccoli, carrots, and baby corn, cooked some TVP chunks, and stir-fried everything with a package of udon noodles in Honey Garlic, Orange & Ginger sauce, and sweet-thai chili sauce.

One of my manic-for-pasta purchases from Chinatown. $1.83 got me 600g of corn soba. Soba is a brilliant Japanese noodle. It’s like fettucine but thinner and chewier and cooks more or less instantly.

Cooked in 2 mins.

My FAVOURITE recipe!! I ripped this out of a Women’s Health Magazine I was reading at the gym last semester. That’s right, I’m the asshole that rips the pages out of your magazines.

Asian Noodle Salad w/ Peanut Dressing

Dressing:
1 tbsp soy sauce
3 tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp hoisin sauce
4 tbsp hot water
2 tbsp lime juice
1 tsp hot sauce
Noodle Salad:
1 pkg (8.8 oz) soba noodles
1 c 2-inch long thinly sliced zucchini spears
1 c matchstick-cut carrots
1 c thinly sliced bell pepper
1 c snow peas, ends trimmed
1/2 cup chopped scallions, green parts only
1/2 c bean sprouts
1/2 c chopped cilantro
1. Puree dressing ingredients until smooth. Add a tbsp of H20 if not
2. Cook noodles until tender (2-5 min). 30 seconds before removing noodles, add zucchini and carrots. Drain, rinse briefly, drain again.
3. Place cool, drained noodles, zucchini, and carrots in a large bowl. Add pepper, snow peas, and scallions. Pour dressing over mixture and toss until well coated.
4. Garnish with cilantro and sprouts.
Makes 4 servings. Each serving: 338 cal, 7g fat,846 mg sodium, 61 g carbs, 4g fiber, 14 g protein

The best part is the super-tangy peanut butter sauce. Other good parts include the price (about $15 for 8 servings worth) the cooking time (20 mins), and the response from omnivores (delight).

This post has been approved by a seagull eating a starfish:

seagul.jpg

-Maureen

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

