A little bit of everything

Okay, so I do have pics from my Valentine’s Day baked goods but my camera is being weird, so I’m posting a random mix of pictures from the last little while.

There are the gogi berries that Alison is always raving about. I guess they look kinda like almonds, but are chewy like dried cranberries.

Roasted-red pepper hummus. I’m not home right now but I’ll edit the recipe in later.

My second dinner of the night at Alison’s house. A mini carrot muffin and an oh-so-delicious sandwich. Unfortch, I can’t remember what was in it. Alison, help? The bread was gluten-free (GF) so it was pretty dense. GF foodies have my sympathy, for real. I had to go GF for a couple months in high school and I went crazy missing the soft texture of wheat bread and the convenience of all things wheat. (Random story: my sister eats GF and once a couple years ago my mom actually prepared several dishes free of wheat, rye, oats, barley, meat, eggs, & dairy!)

——-

I heart Herb and Spice, but I’m sick of getting ripped off by their baked tofu slices ($0.55 each!) so I decided to prepare my own. I bought a lb bulk from H&S for $1.89, sliced it into 1/2 in slices, brushed each (top & bottom) with sesame oil, then grilled it on my George Foreman. Et voila!

1 lb makes about 8 or 9 thick slices, which would have cost me $5 at Herb & Spice. A savings of $3 a week! (Yes, I do eat that much tofu…). Although, I inevitably end up buying some random bulk stuff while there to pick up the tofu so I’m actually not saving anything.

Happy Reading Week!

-Maureen

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aly said,

    I forget what was in the sandwich too! I think it was something like hummus, baked tofu, grated carrot, clover sprouts, spinach, capers, tomato and onion.

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    Thanks for the GF Vegan comment – I have to admit that I did a pretty good job- I totally impressed myself considering it had to be both Gluten Free, and Vegan, and good enough for a Christmass dinner – if you recall, most of it was Thai. Perhaps during the month of May, we can come up with new food ideas for this website.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

