Fake sushi

I decided to make the “fake” sushi pictured here in December when I ran out of sushi rice. I did this by using grated carrot and clover sprouts soaked in a small amount of rice vinegar and soy sauce instead of sushi rice. The filling included bok choy, avocado, baked tofu, green onion and orange pepper. I had to roll everything with careful attention as the carrot-mixture did not stick to the nori very well. The final product was amazing and I ended up making it for lunch again the next day!

Vegan sushi recipes can be found on The PostPunkKitchen. The FFVK has some other non-traditional sushi ideas. There is also a dessert sushi recipe over at dr. stonielove’s bewildered beast!

– Aly

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Maureen said,

    Wow! What a great idea! I wonder how we can make the carrot stick to the nori…

  2. 2

    Aly said,

    When I tried it again the next day, I coated the nori in soy sauce before heaping on the carrot mixture and it worked a little better ;).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

