Quick post!

Happy belated birthday to the lovely Maureen!! You deserve all the best <3!

The due date for my thesis is quickly approaching leaving me with little time to get up to any exciting shenanigans in the kitchen. This means that I will be eating a whole lot of my favourite speedy meal over the next month:

Baked whole wheat pita bread, soynut butter and smashed banana with a ton of cinnamon.

It tastes better than it looks: baked whole wheat pita bread, soynut butter and smashed banana with a ton of cinnamon.

I am finally starting to overcome the loss of peanut and almond butters, and am learning to love soy butters (lately I’ve been enjoying Salba Olé brand and the I.M.Healthy brand which carries a dairy-free chocolate spread). I usually eat this after working out as it is a great source of Potassium, protein and carbohydrates.  I am not sure what I would do without soy and got quite worked up when I thought that it might have been responsible for a massive allergic reaction I had a few weeks ago!  I am also not sure what I would do without the Cavendish banana!! Do you?!

Speaking of unsustainable practices (re: bananas), apparently advice to eat fish hurts the environment! Surprise, surprise! In other news, the EU is apparently phasing out some aspects of animal testing in the cosmetics industry.

- Aly

PS Ugh. What?! WHAT?!!

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Happy belated birthday to Maureen; good luck to YOU on your thesis!!

  2. 3

    Ricki said,

    Happy Birthday, Maureen! :) And best of luck with the thesis, too!

  3. 5

    Carrie said,

    It might not LOOK amazing, but that pita creation certainly sounds delicious.

    Good luck with your thesis! Been there..I know how stressful it can be!

  4. 7

    Happy B-day Maureen. And I’m glad you’ve found a good sub for peanut butter. I’m not what I would do without nut butter….die, perhaps. But maybe I should check out the other seed butters just in case.

  5. 9

    Andrea said,

    Happy birthday to Maureen.

    Happy almost finished thesis to Aly.

  6. 11

    shellyfish said,

    Happy birthday Maureen!!!!! Rock the thesis – and I need to try me some soy butters!

  7. 13

    Liz² said,

    good luck with school! that looks like perfect study-power food, and indeed the messier banana-nut-butter sandwiches look, generally the more delicious they *are*, so you’re gold here. :)

    oh, and I’m glad they’re getting down on fish eating. There are so few left!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

