Footloose

Sorry for the massive delay in posting, guys. I’ve actually moved twice in the last month and, although I’ve been taking a lot of photos, posting them hasn’t been at the top of my list. I hope everyone had a debaucherous and regrettable New Years Eve—after all, 2008 only ends once!

In honour of  2008, I’ll be presenting today’s post of recently devoured foodstuffs in the form of a countdown. DRUMROLL!

10. Jenna’s most excellent Lentil Curry, made with yellow lentils and served with quinoa:

Lentil Curry

9. Fake chicken by SoYeat (or SoVeat?). In truth, I’ve never had fake chicken before but I liked it a lot! It also got the omnivore seal of approval.

Fake chicken by SoYeat

My aunt made me this for lunch, with baked sweet potato fries.

8. Sauteed fruit! I picked up this idea in Jamaica.

bananas, blueberries, peaches, pears

It makes a savoury dessert or, as pictured here, a yummy companion for steel cut oats.

7.  Kath’s Kale Chips. A simple, super-healthy recipe. Just wash a head of kale, slice once down the main vein, spray with olive-oil spray, and sprinkle with a salty-herb mixture. I used jerk seasoning from Jamaica. Bake at 350 deg C for 15 minutes (until edges are brown). A huge bowl of this has about 170 calories, 450 mg of calcium, and 1500 mg of potassium.

Kale is one of those superfoods that you should always eat, and this recipe makes a great sub for potato chips or nachos.

6. Steamed spinach with raisins and dried cranberries. Another idea from Jamaica. I topped this batch with nutritional yeast to give it a cheesy favour.

It looks like a small portion but it's actually about 10 cups of fresh spinach (aka 470% of my daily Vitamin A requirement). That stuff really shrinks, eh?

5. Quesadillas!

I topped my whole-wheat tortilla with 3 slices of Veggie Slices vegan cheese, olives, tomatoes, and cilantros.

I folded it over and heated it for a few minutes on each side, et voila!

4. Thank you, thank you, thank you Vegan Dad for your Veggie Lunch Meat recipe, which will probably save me thousands of dollars over the next few years.

I'll never buy another Yves three-serving package of soy meat for $3.99! (that's a toothpick for comparison)

All the ingredients for this recipe cost me about $2, and I cut the log into 14 thick slices, each of which packs 14g of protein.

Recipe (from Vegan Dad, whose cookbook is for sale here):

Ingredients:
1 cup white beans (I used kidney beans)
2 cups water
1/4 cup oil
2 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic
1/4 tsp tumeric
1 tsp ground fennel
1 tsp sage
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp soy sauce
2 3/4 cup vital wheat gluten

Directions:

Get water steaming in your steamer.
1. Place all ingredients except the gluten flour in a blender and process until smooth. Pour into a bowl. Add gluten flour and work into a dough.
2. Shape dough into a log and wrap in heavy duty foil like a tootsie roll. Try to make the roll as thick as possible. Steam for 1 hour.
3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees in the last 15 mins of steaming. Remove seitan from steamer and bake for 45-60 mins. Seitan should swell and press against the foil.
4. Cool and slice as needed for sandwiches. This seitan holds up very well and can be shaved very thin. Store in the fridge

3. Another round of my fave lemon-cranberry bread, made with my new loaf pans.

lemon-cranberry bread

2. Pineapple-carrot cake!

I couldn't find any vegan cream cheese to make icing but the cake was really good by itself anyway.

Recipe (modified from a few different sources):

Ingredients:

1 and1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 cup w/w flour
2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup brown sugar
3 egg equivalent in Ener-G egg substitute
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup applesauce
2 cups finely grated carrots
1 can (about 14 oz) crushed pineapple, drained
1 cup walnut pieces

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. In a medium bowl, mix flours, baking soda, cinnamon, spice, baking powder, and salt. In a large bowl, thoroughly mix sugar and “eggs”. Add vanilla, then vegetable oil and applesauce. Mix wet and dry ingredients together and add carrots, pineapple, and walnuts. Pour into greased baking pan (9×9 is best) and bake for 50 minutes.

Instead of eating this cake directly, I crumbled little slices into my oatmeal, along with the almond butter that Omnivore Boyfriend's mum sent home with him. Soooo delicious.

1. Pumpkin, caramel, and chocolate loaf, modified from VeggieGirl‘s Pumpkin, Caramel, and Carob loaf.

(those plastic shards in the top are from the bowl that melted into the element while the oven was on. Oops!)

Pumpkin, caramel, and chocolate loaf

I followed VeggieGirl’s recipe exactly, except for the following substitutions:

-2 cups of flour were replaced with 1 cup of white flour and 1 cup of w/w flour
-the pure maple syrup was replaced with No Name “maple-flavoured” syrup (po’ students—holla!)
-the carob chips were replaced with vegan chocolate chips from Herb and Spice

I like how this recipe doesn’t have any oil or margarine.

—-

And that’s it! Happy very belated New Years to everyone.

-Maureen

19 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    VeggieGirl said,

    Happy belated new year!! And wow, I LOVE how you tried so many blogger recipes – too fun!! And thank you for trying my loaf recipe – hope you liked its taste!! :-D

  2. 2

    Amira said,

    hope your new years was insanely awesome!
    Wowza that pumpkin, caramel & choc loaf looks incredible *mouth waters*
    Kale chips- that sounds like it should be an oxymoron!lol! BUt hey they look great and i’m lovin the lentils over quinoa- yummo!!
    Have a fantastic weekend

  3. 3

    Shelby said,

    Love the recipes and all the ideas! Especially the sauteed fruit. I gotta try that one out for myself!

    I’ve never had kale chips before, even though thats my favorite veggie ever. And that curry sounds so delicious and easy to make.

    I make my own seitan as well and trust me it saves SO much money in the long run. I will never buy it at the store again.

    All the breads sound phenomenal! I love that pumpkin bread recipe. =)

  4. 4

    Andrea said,

    You may have taken a little break from your blog, but you really made up for it with this post. So many great ideas to chose from! Now, I hope you don’t have to move again for a while.

  5. 5

    you have been cooking up a storm!! I love the spinach with raisins idea.

  6. 6

    Deliciousness overload!! I’m going into shock! A very happy belated New Year to you too! Now, stop moving! :)

  7. 7

    Anna said,

    I found that I could eat the SoVeat only in little portions, after that I got really sick of the texture. Have you tried making it with a yellow curry sauce over rice? It taste okay like that.

  8. 8

    What a delicious looking spread! Yum!!

  9. 9

    shellyfish said,

    Happy New Year to you! I can’t get over all this deliciousness! And how much do you pay for gluten flour? Good grief, here’s it’s so expensive, like 500g runs around 6 or 7E! I need to have my peeps import me some gluten!

  10. 10

    VeggieGirl said,

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  11. 11

    Liz² said,

    woah!! so much good stuff I don’t know what to crave first!!
    maybe I would start with the lemon cranberry bread and then go on to eat you out of house and home. sound like a good deal? :D
    happy new years!!

  12. 12

    melisser said,

    I love a good top 10 & everything here sounds great!

  13. 13

    mihl said,

    I love the countdown. Can’t decide which looks best. It all looks so good.

  14. 14

    Katie said,

    I love countdowns! You’ve got a great variety here – I’m especially wowed by the quesadillas & quick breads. Yum yum!

  15. 15

    kale chips! I’ve been meaning to make those forever…. I need to get on that… thanks for the reminder…

  16. 16

    gail said,

    I love roundups – they always give me wonderful ideas of new things to try, and yours is no exception! Thank you for sharing your faves of 2008.

  17. 17

    alaina said,

    oh my god, so many yummy things in one post! those loaves look especially tasty.

  18. 18

    Sauteed fruit? What a yumlicious idea!

  19. 19

    Tofufreak said,

    MMMMM… very yummy eats! :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

